Posted by: katjorgensen | January 30, 2012

Breast Cancer – Goodbye

I lost a sweet knitting friend a couple of weeks ago to breast cancer.  She was a valiant fighter and an optimist.  This was her second bout of breast cancer.  She leaves behind a loving husband and a beautiful daughter.  And many, many friends who will miss her easy smile, quick wit and happy spirit.

It’s a horrible disease.  The statistics are staggering.   I think it’s something like 1 in 6 women will be diagnosed with breast cancer.  Think of yourself and 5 of your good friends.  It’s possible one of you will be touched by this illness in your lifetime.  If it happens once, it’s too often – in my opinion.

Please, please be proactive.  Do your monthly self-exams, get a physician to check your breasts each year.  And get your mammograms on schedule.  Do not pass them by.  Do not think that this can’t happen to you.  It can.

Three years ago, I  found the lump in my breast.  I am one of the lucky ones.  Today, I am a survivor.  And I want to continue to be a survivor and to raise awareness about this gawd-awful disease.

For the next several Mondays, I’m going to be featuring flash mob videos from around the world.  People out there dancing and prancing and living.  People remembering loved ones they’ve lost. People trying to raise awareness.  People like you and me.

So, today, I dedicate this post in loving memory to my friend Janet.  You are missed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFfAbwWhVPk

Responses

  1. Very touching. Yes, my family has been touched by cancer, breast and other forms. Thanks for posting….

    • Thank you, Carrie. It seems almost everyone has been touched by this disease – and if not directly then they know someone who has. I wish it were different.

  2. I’m so terribly sorry to learn of your loss. I’m 49, and when I think about how many of my friends have already been diagnosed with this illness (most of whom, luckily, have survived), it makes my head spin. You’re in my thoughts.

    • Hello Regina! I think of you so often. It seems that the younger you are when you’re diagnosed, the harder it is. Like you, I have so many friends and family members who have battled this disease. Most have survived. But it is simply heart-breaking to lose someone. Thank you for writing.

  3. I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend, and for her husband and daughter. While my blood family hasn’t lost or been threatened by breast cancer, I’ve seen far too many friends who are as close as family battle it. The devastation and fear and loss can be so overwhelming. It’s wonderful to see so many pink ribbon products lately, but we’re still not there. Thanks for this post and raising awareness even more.

    • Eleven years ago I lost my mom to cancer. Prior to that our family had been pretty much untouched in my lifetime by cancer. Since then I have seen it in all age groups within my family and my friends and their families. It’s almost like it’s an epidemic. If I can get one woman to do a self-exam or to see a dr or get a mammogram, then I’m happy. The tumor I had was so deep and in such dense tissue that it could have easily been missed. But I knew my breasts and I felt something different. And I took action instead of sticking my head in the sand and hoping it was nothing or it would go away. The radiologist told me that another 6 months of it being untreated and my prognosis would have been very different. We have to be vigilant and we have to keep fighting the good fight.

      Thank you for the kind words about my friend. And thank you for posting.

  4. It is shocking how frequently I’ve gotten that call: “I’ve been diagnosed with breast cancer.” So sad for your loss and happy you’re one of the survivors. Flash mobs make me happy. I love that you will be putting them in front of us every week!

    • It is so scary the number of women who are told that news each year. The good news is that they are being more successful in detection and treatment. But there’s still so much room for improvement. I want this disease in all of its many forms gone.

      Flash mobs make me happy too. There is such pure joy and energy within a group. Thank you for you comment.

  5. Thank you Kat for your lovely post. I lost both my grandmothers to this disease, too… and losing Janet has been so very, very hard… I agree with you: every check is so important…

    • I wanted to do something to honor Janet. I know she wouldn’t have wanted a big fuss. But I remember her each day and think of her family so much. So sorry to hear about both of your grandmothers. It’s a horrible, horrible disease. Hugs, dear friend. Hugs. I know this is so very hard on you. Thank you for posting.

  6. Love that song, great video.

    • Thank you, Cora, for posting. I love the song too.

  7. What a lovely thing to do in memory of dear Janet. You are so right, Kat, about being proactive. It’s something every woman should be doing. Thanks. xxx

    • It was the very least I could do, Helen. She is missed by so many people and gone too, too soon. My heart aches that she was taken away from family and friends by this horrible disease.

      xoxo.

  8. Dearest Kat,

    What a wonderful way to honor your dear friend Janet. All of the love she gave and received in her life on earth, she carried with her to heaven. She is there now, watching over all her loved ones she left behind. And probably dancing with the music also.

    I am sad that I did not get a chance to know her personally. But from all of the lovely and heartwarming memories shared by people who were lucky to have had her in their lives, she sounds like a truly amazing woman. She will be remembered with love. May God comfort her family and friends during this difficult time.

    • Thank you, Dee. And thank you for taking the time to comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

